The obligatory start-of-travel blog post…

Hello friend(s)!

As many of you may know, I will be leaving tomorrow for Chennai, Tamil Nadu, in India. And being the enormous narcissist that I am, I have decided to write about it here, and then bombard you all with Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr updates and reminders to read about me.

Chennai is the capital city of Tamil Nadu, a southern state in India. It’s big, with a population of a little over 4.6 million. For a plethora of other information, please click for a link to the wikipedia page. ‘Cuz that’s how I roll.

I’ll be going over with my family for my cousin’s wedding in Sri Lanka (the island off the tip of the Indian peninsula). After the festivities, my family will be coming back to the U.S. Starting in June, I will be working with the Environmental Health and Engineering Department at Sri Ramachandra Medical University. I will be helping out with a field study, assessing environmental risk factors and figuring out how they relate to different maternal and child health outcomes. I’m really excited to be getting the opportunity to work in the public health field, on a global scale.

I really hope this can be kind of a regular thing, and that you all can count on it to fill the void I have left in your hearts by traipsing off to another continent. I’ll probably talk about the work that I’m doing, but I’m also definitely going to post about any (if any) adventures I may have, as well as pictures from different mini-trips, the wedding, and any other requested info/pics (within reason).

So, tomorrow my family is stopping by the County Clerk’s office to fill out our absentee ballots for the June election (can you believe they didn’t have absentee ballots ready until TOMORROW? Ridiculous.), and heading down to O’Hare International. We’ll have a 14hr flight from O’Hare to Abu Dhabi (so excited for that one, you guys), and then a 3.5hr flight from Abu Dhabi to Chennai. We leave Chicago

Stuff is packed and ready to go, things are  happening.

Talk to you in a couple days, kids.

Pratha

1 Comment

Filed under Personal, Public Health

One response to “The obligatory start-of-travel blog post…

  1. Emily Rossmeissl

    This sounds so exciting Pratha. I can’t wait to hear about your trip – feel free to bombard me with all the Facebook posts you want!! Travel safely!!

Leave a Reply

